top of page

Awards and Scholarships

Each year, ANCBH recognizes individuals and groups for their contributions to and accomplishments in public health. 

ANCBH also awards up to five $500 scholarships annually to assist local board of health members to attend the annual NALBOH conference.

Outstanding Board of Health Award

The Nominee for this award must be an Institutional member of ANCBH. The board’s leadership in public health accomplishments must be clearly evident. The accomplishment must either have documented results or be currently producing intended results. The activity may be accomplished through the health department, other agencies, or groups.


Robert "Ed" Strother Partnership Award

The Robert Ed Strother Partnership Award is in memory of Robert Strother of New Hanover County who was one of the first board members of ANCBH.  This Award is given to an individual or institution that has established and/or fostered a public-private partnership, which has improved public health for the community. 

Carl Durham Award

The nominee for this award must be an institutional, individual, associate or emeritus member of ANCBH. The nominee must have made significant contributions to public health and is an effective advocate for public health at the local, regional, and/or state levels.

The Carl Durham Award is one of the most prestigious awards given by ANCBH. It recognizes individuals who have made an extraordinary contribution to public health at the local, regional, state and national levels. 

Bob Blackburn and Vaughn Upshaw Awards

ANCBH presents these awards to outstanding graduate students in the Public Health Leadership Program. Selection is based on applicant's demonstrated commitment to local public health agencies, leadership skills, academic excellence, and contributions to North Carolina.

Current 2022 Recipients

Outstanding Board of Heath Award 

Henderson County Board of Health

Robert L. Strother Award 

Karin Minter, MD, MPH, Alamance County Board of Health

Carl Durham Award
Annette Wilson, DVM, Alamance County Board of Health

Vaughn Upshaw Award
Karina Gonzalez


Robert Blackburn Award
Samuel Elliott Krause

Past Recipients

Board of Health Scholarships


Need financial assistance to attend the annual NALBOH conference?

Please send name, address, Local Board of Health, Rationale for Scholarship and Recommendation/Signature of Local Health Director to:

Merle Green, ANCBH Executive Director

Email: and copy to 


bottom of page