top of page


ANCBH Board Members advocating for Public Health

Watson S. Rankin Legacy Award 2022-2023

Barbara Ann Hughes, PhD, MPH, RDN, LDN, FADA, FAND was awarded the Rankin Legacy Award at the honors luncheon at the NCPHA Annual Conference in Wilmington.  The Rankin Legacy Award is given to a NCPHA member in recognition of their outstanding contributions to public health in NC over the member's lifetime.  Her many leadership roles in public health and nutrition organizations include being  Past-President, National Association of Local Boards of Health and Past-House of Delegates, Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics

Barbara Ann Hughes Legacy Award.jpg

Ham Stevens, MD Award 2022

Merle Green, MPH, MBA was presented with the Ham Stephens award, given to individuals who exemplify the qualities of a former health director and friend of public health, Ham Stevens, M.D.    Dr. Stevens was largely responsible for bringing administrative health directors and medical health directors together to form the North Carolina Association of Local Health Directors (NCALHD). 


Merle was recognized for her many achievements in community-based health centers, health promotion, consensus building, volunteer service on community Boards, and leadership in public health.  NCALHD also recognized Merle for her mentorship of young health professionals, faculty appointments at several colleges and universities in NC, and for her advocacy for population-based health services. 

Merle Green_edited.jpg

National Association of Local Boards of Health

ANCBH is providing leadership at the national level.  At the Annual Business Meeting, held on August 2nd 2022 in conjunction with the NALBOH Annual Conference, Benjamin W. Tillett, RPh, PharmD serves as President of NALBOH.  Dr. Tillett has provided outstanding leadership to the ANCBH Board as its President and is well qualified to lead NALBOH as they support local Boards of Health in their current and emerging public health challenges.

Ben Tillett.jpeg

Mary C. Egan Award 2022

Barbara Ann Hughes, PhD, MPH, RDN, LDN, FADA, FAND has received the 2022 Mary C. Egan Award from the APHA (American Public Health Association) Food and Nutrition Section.  This national award recognizes the professional contributions and outstanding services of public health nutritionists. The services may include developing new approaches to public health nutrition, mentoring, nutrition education, and addressing special nutrition needs.

Barbara Ann Hughes Mary C Egan Award 2022 sized.jpg
bottom of page